Glossybox January 2016

IMAG4594This is my first year long subscription to Glossybox after my last year long ended in February 2015. I’ve purchased over 50 Glossyboxes in the last 3 years and they are one of my favorite subscriptions. That said, I feel like the brand recognition has slipped in the last year and I wish they would work more with well known brands in addition to the brands we have been seeing.

 

1454621186797272414908

Not all of this box will work for me, the highest valued item was the Diamond Heart illuminating primer from Emite Make Up, but with my oily skin I doubt I will enjoy this. The brand is one Glossybox has sent out in the past. I received a black eyeshadow in the Nov. 2013 Glossybox and LOVED IT, but we also received an eyelash curler in Aug. 2013 and I did NOT love that. The eyeshadow the blackest shadow I own and if the primer is anywhere close to that same quality it will be a great item to gift.

1454621362061-1964726859

Up next is the Minus 417 Foot Nourshing Cream, I have received this brand in other subscriptions and have never been wowed…same goes for this item. I used it overnight with socks and while it did do a good job of making my feet soft and not leaking through the socks, I don’t feel like it was anything special. I’ll use it up, but wouldn’t repurchase it for $18.

IMAG4656

I also tried the Beautiful Nutrition Lemon Rinse, again a brand I’m unfamiliar with… The rinse is something to use after you shampoo and condition to clarify your scalp and hair. I didn’t love the scent, but if you’re a fan of citrus then you might love this. Unfortunately, I didn’t love the results….mostly because I didn’t see any difference. This price point on the full sized item is only $10, so if you are a fan of the scent, it might be worth giving a chance to work. *Update I was able to get 5 uses out of this sample! Too bad I didn’t see any difference in my hair or scalp.

IMAG4808

When I saw the spoiler for this next one it was a very small photo and I thought it was from the Ciate brand. I was so bummed when I saw the brand was MeMeMe! This lip crayon has that cheap, waxy smell…I haven’t swatched it, so maybe it’s amazing, but I will save it for the spring/summer since it’s a peachy pink color.

1454621826055-1058797848

This last item really made the box for me, Royal Apothic body cream! First, I love this brands packaging and style. Second, this is a Full Size item with a price tag of $14! Glossybox sent out a lip butter from this brand in the Feb. 2015 and the packaging was amazing on that product as well. I’m ashamed to admit I never opened the lip butter, but it is on my list of items to try…Glossybox can keep sending out Royal Apothic products and I won’t complain, happy to have it!

Overall not the greatest box ever, but I’m happy with the value. I think the range of product and curation of this box was good. Here’s to a year if Glossybox, fingers crossed!

 

 

Leave a Reply

