Birchbox February 2015

Birchbox has quickly become my favorite beauty box, edging out others because of the price and awesome rewards program. The fact that I can choose to pick a curated box , pick a sample, or choose to be surprised really makes it extra fun. Also, I’m totally kind of a control freak, so I love the options and knowing I will love at least one thing. I do find myself choosing the curated boxes more often then not.

This month was no different, I picked the Rent the Runway box. There were other pick your sample choices that I wanted too, but I was interested in trying everything in the curated box. It included:

The Balm Read My Lips Gloss in Bam

theBalm® cosmetics Read My Lips™ Lip Gloss - Bam - rose-pink

The fact I’ve never tried a lip gloss from The Balm and that I’m a gloss junkie made this super exciting. The full size is $15 and .3 oz, my sample is .08 oz and worth $4.

 

Fekkai Blowout Dry Shampoo

Fekkai Blowout Hair Refresher Dry Shampoo – 1.7 fl. oz.

I’m always up for a product that makes my hair last an extra day. I was on second day hair when my box arrived, so I quickly busted this one out. It worked well on my dark hair and didn’t leave any white cast, it also smelled very fresh. Not sure it will replace my HG Batiste for brown hair, but I think it will give it a run for it’s money. I received a Full Sized Travel Size at 1.7 oz with a value of $10.

 

DermaE Anti-Wrinkle Exfoliating Cleanser

derma e® Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic Scrub - new

I’ve tried a scrub from this line before and it was great, so I really wanted to try this too. Not to be a Debbie Downer, but I highly doubt you can get anti-wrinkle effects from a cleanser…you leave it on for less then a minute and wash it down the drain. That said, I am happy to try another product from DermaE. The full size is $12.75 for 4 oz, my sample is 1 oz and worth $3.18.

 

Not Soap, Radio Body Wash in The stuff that Cupid dips his arrow in (because sometimes fate needs a assists).

Not Soap, Radio Body Wash - cupid

This product has the longest, cutest name in the history of body wash. That mouthful didn’t draw me in (it’s is cute and all), but the Blackberry and Vanilla description sounded fantastic and it is! Yummo! I just want to keep sniffing myself…but that’s just weird. The full size is $16 for 13.61 oz, my sample is 1.5 oz and worth $2.64.

 

Sumita Eyeliner in Raina

Sumita Color Contrast Eyeliner Exclusive Set

I’ve received these a few times from other subscriptions and while they won’t replace my favorite eyeliners, they are good enough quality for me to gift them to friends or family. This was sent out in multiple colors, but I received a basic black. I know sometimes boxes get a lot of hate about basic black liners, black is such a staple in peoples routine that it’s understandable.  The full size is $11 and .06 oz, my sample is .024oz and worth $4.40.

*update: After closer inspection I received Raina, which is a dark navy blue.

The last thing in my box was a coupon for Rent the Runway, $30 off order of $75.  Rent the Runway is an online service that provides designer dress and accessory rentals. The dress prices run from $40 to $800 and accessories run $5 to $400. I doubt I’ll ever use this, I prefer to try things on and shop at a discount, so $45 to use something once doesn’t appeal to me. If you’d like the code just comment below, first one who does gets it.

Over all this was a winner and I’m happy with every single sample!! Couple that with the 50 points I will get for the Birchbox store and this is why I love me some Birchbox.  My box is valued at $24.22 without any value placed on the coupon, along with that the 50 points = $5 in the Birchbox store. The real value is I will use everything in this box, yay!

Leave a Reply

