Birchbox October 2014

Birchbox October 2014

Well Birchbox did it again, with just one product my box value was more then 2x what I paid! This month’s pick-your-sample had a choice of a full sized Mally Beauty High-Shine Liquid Lipstick, a Model CO Party Proof lipstick or a sadly small Lord and Berry black eyeliner (yawn). I chose the full sized Mally Liquid Lipstick, a $20 value!!  Everything after that was all gravy baby!

I picked Mally in Petal to the Metal. I am in love with the packaging, it’s your typical twist up/click type design, but the quality of the casing is outstanding. This is close to the Stila brand price point, but Stila could learn a thing or two from Mally design department! One negitave is that these Mally colors seem to be discontinued, I couldn’t find them in Birchbox store or in-store at Ulta. So I hope I don’t love it too much or I’ll be scouting ebay for backups.

dr. brandt® pores no more® vacuum cleaner™

This is the second month I’ve received a product from Dr. Brandt, and that’s fine by me! I’m always excited to try high end brands in hopes of finding a really great product. I will rarely spend $$$ in hopes of a good product, I have no problem with the price, but it has to work. This is part of the Pores No More line and it’s a mask with the cutest name, Vacuum Cleaner. This is the 4rd product I have tried from this line and honestly I don’t see any difference in the size of my pores or removal of clogs. I was happy to try it and love that these types brands are working with Birchbox.

ModelCo Power Lash Long Wear Black Mascara

Mascara samples will never raise my heart rate, but I will try it and may find a new Holy Grail product…in 4 or 5 months. Yep, that’s how much mascara and mascara samples I have to work though. As far a this brand, I could take it or leave it. Model Co is an Australian brand that seems to be trying to break into the US market via subscription services. I have yet to see it in-store and with pricing in that range I’d like to see a large company be willing to back/promote them.

Essentiel Elements Wake Up Rosemary Shower Gel

Oh good god! Do you want to smell like a jar of Vicks Vaper Rub?? Then this shower gel is for you or your cold. I don’t plan to use this, unless I have a raging head cold and need relief. No, just no…

Harvey Prince Petaly Noir – 50 ml

Here’s another fragrance from Birchbox. I’m on the only 6 fragrance samples per year, so I hope the next few months won’t have any. Harvey Prince is a pricey brand and someone may like this Petaly Noir scent, but it’s a no go for me.

Even with a mascara sample and 2 awful smelling products this box was really good for me. I haven’t tried the Mally’s lippie, it’s so nice I may gift it. I’m loving this sub and the points they give you for reviewing and you can spend in their online store are icing on the cake!

Leave a Reply

